Tarleton receives LSC Training Staff of the Year Award

Bethany Brooks / Sports Editor

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.

The Lone Star Conference (LSC) Athletic Training Staff of the Year award was awarded to the training staff of Tarleton State University for the 2012-13 academic year.

The LSC is made of nine institutions: seven in Texas, one in Oklahoma, and one in New Mexico. The head athletic trainer of each member institution casts an annual vote on who the award should be presented to.

“It’s a great honor to be recognized by the Lone Star Conference and our peers throughout the conference. There is a high standard of health care provided for the student-athletes in the LSC and we strive to continue this care. This award was made possible through the efforts of our great staff, graduate assistants and athletic training students,” said Steve Simpson, head athletic trainer.

This award is used to raise awareness of the athletic training profession. When making their decision on who to vote for, head athletic trainers must take many things into consideration, such as: the athletic training staff’s hospitality toward visiting athletic trainers and teams, preparedness with supplies, equipment and services for visiting athletic trainers and teams, preparedness for emergency situations, and care for injured athletes from visiting teams.

Simpson is assisted by Jacob Fain, Rachel Howell and Pedro Rodriguez in addition to graduate assistants Shelby Douglass, Sherissa Hua, Annie Nalepa and Jose Salas.