Tarleton Rodeo to host 11th annual Dinner, Auction and Hall of Fame


Photo Courtesy of theflashtoday.com

2019 Tarleton Rodeo Hall of Fame inductees Tessie Doyle, Jackie Hobbs-Crawford, Neelley Armes and Sarah Scott Verhelst with Coach Mark Eakin and President Dr. James Hurley.

In the month of February, Tarleton State University will host the 11th Annual Rodeo Dinner, Auction, and Hall of Fame. This event was originally planned take place on Friday Feb. 12, 2021 but was moved to Feb. 19.This is a highly anticipated event for the Tarleton State Rodeo Team, their supporters and sponsors.
Doors will open at 6 p.m. followed by a steak dinner that will be served at 7 p.m.
“This event [will be] open to [anyone who wants to attend], our student team members sell tickets every year for $50 each,” said Britney Stewart, assistant for rodeo coach, Mark Eakin
After the dinner, the Hall of Fame ceremony will begin at 8:15 p.m. the ceremony will begin with the induction of the 2020-2021 rodeo hall of fame members. Lastly, members will be able to make their closing remarks and then end the event with the silent auction.
“The Annual Rodeo Dinner, Auction, and Hall of Fame is one of [Tarleton Rodeo’s] annual fundraisers for the team,” Stewert said. “The ceremony [is our way] to recognize past outstanding Tarleton Rodeo members as we [install] them into our Hall of Fame. This event [not only] raises funds for scholarships but also [raises funds that go] towards our Annual Tarleton Stampede, which is held every April.”
After the success of the event in 2019, Tarleton’s Rodeo team hopes that this year’s event will be just as spectacular in the new Rodeo Facilities.
“In 2019 at the 10th Annual Rodeo Dinner, Auction, and Hall of Fame, [we] were able to raise about $15,000,” Stewert said.

“This year we are [going to be] able to host the [11th Rodeo Dinner] in [the] new Tarleton Rodeo Facilities, which [will] offer us [more] space to host more guests,” Stewart said.
At the 11th annual dinner, Tarleton Rodeo is planning to showcase the 2020 Hall of Fame class.
“The 2020 Hall of Fame class [will consist of] 6 members [from] the 2005 Men’s National Championship team,” Stewart said. “These members include Bray Armes, York Gill, Cody Horwedel, Clayton Jackson, Blake Teixiera and Ryan Watkins.”
“[The Tarleton Rodeo department and team] hope to host a great [and fun] event that [will] allow our amazing community a chance to celebrate our past members, but also involve our students in an event that they are able to take pride in while meeting our community members, and raise funds for the program,” Stewart said.
Every year, this event grows, more people show, and more money is able to go toward the rodeo team.
“We are fortunate to live in an area that supports our team and students better than anywhere,” Stewart said. “It is so amazing that this event continues to grow, we are thankful to everyone that makes it possible.”
Tarleton Rodeo still has tickets available for purchase, if you are interested in attending you can call (254)-968-1793 to acquire tickets, or ask questions specifically about this event.